Welcome to our Provincial Website

Image of Keith Waters, PGM
R W Bro Keith Waters KCAG
Provincial Grand Master

The Masonic Order of Athelstan is an invitation-only masonic Order based on the life of King Athelstan, who in the early 10th century united the various kingdoms of England to become the first King of all the English. During his reign he was a statesman, administrator and lawmaker who was responsible for many laws and regulations, including charges and regulations for operative masons which to this day remain an influence on speculative freemasonry.

The focus of the Order is to encourage and prompt members into further study and research to show how those early references to Masonry are still relevant.

The Order, in England and Wales, is structured so that its Provinces, wherever possible, reflect and represent the original Kingdoms established by King Athelstan.

The Province of Wessex encompasses the Craft Provinces of Herefordshire, Gloucestershire, Bristol, Wiltshire, Oxfordshire and Berkshire, as well as Keynsham in Somerset.

Want to Know More?

Learn more about the Province of Wessex and the Masonic Order of Athelstan

Scroll to Top